Assignment 2 – The Sight of Sound – #edtechcca2

My idea for assignment 2 was to make a soundscape for a scene from a book I had read. Almost immediately I thought of Robert Louis Stevenson’s Treasure Island which I had read in High School. Initially I thought about the sounds of the island, the surf and the seagulls. After looking for sounds on some of the sound-clip websites I decided to try and create the sounds of a busy dock, the sounds that young Jack Hawkins would’ve encountered on his first visit to the port of Bristol, where he boarded the Hispaniola.

I searched for docks and harbour sounds on several sound-clip sites and also for seagulls, creaking boats, ships bells and crowds. One of the best sound effects of a crowd that I found was actually from a shopping mall, but it served my purposes quite well.

I shortlisted about a dozen clips from Soundbible.com and Freesound.org, being careful to exclude anything that had recognisable modern sounds. I then downloaded the ones I thought would work best. The sound clips I used are listed below.

Soundbible.com

  • Rowing a boat by Lazure
  • Shopping Mall Ambience
  • Small Crowd by Mike Koenig
  • Ship Bell by Mike Koenig
  • Herring Gull 2

Freesound.org

  • 20080421 by dobroide
  • boat_on_the_dock by suonidigenova
  • drunks fighting by tigersand

I used Audacity to mix and edit the sounds as it was a tool I was familiar with. I combined the sounds, altering the volume of some of the clips to fade them slightly. I also repeated a few of the clips to extend the soundscape to 45 seconds in length. One of the audio clips included some Spanish conversation, so I layered the ships bell and seagull over the top to obscure it.

I’m quite happy with the final result and think that it does convey the impression of a busy mid-18th century harbour. The final mix was saved as a mp3 file and uploaded to Audioboo.fm. From there I found the embed code to add it to my WordPress blog. You can listen for yourself…

Finally, here’s a brief tutorial on how to edit and combine sound clips with Audacity.

About colinmaxwell

Creative Industries lecturer. Photographer, designer, game developer, film maker. Scotland.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Assignment 2 – The Sight of Sound – #edtechcca2

  1. John says:

    Hi Colin,
    Nice job on the sound rich and old. I particularly like the muffled voices around 15 seconds in.

    I am/was thinking of a seaside theme but will probably switch. Re-discovering Freesound which is just lovely.

Leave a Reply

