Audio Story – In Search of Jazz

This week I played around with Audacity and tried making an audio story from an assortment of sound clips from freesound.org, soundbible.com and soundzabound.

This was a fairly tough assignment for me as I don’t work much with sound, apart from doing some basic editing. I ended up with about 20 audio tracks in Audacity and keeping track of all the sounds and how they fitted together was a bit of a nightmare. Eventually I managed to cobble together something that I felt was close to what I was trying to achieve.

After completing the mp3 file I uploaded it to the audio sharing site Audioboo.com, where you can go to find the finished story which is entitled In Search of Jazz.

The clips used in the creation of the story include:

  • a car engine
  • a taxi radio dispatch
  • city sounds
  • traffic jam
  • door knock
  • car door opening/closing
  • footsteps
  • a jazz music track
  • some crappy acting by myself!
About colinmaxwell

Creative Industries lecturer. Photographer, designer, game developer, film maker. Scotland.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

