7 frames of Singin’ in the Rain

I watched Singin’ In The Rain this week after recording it during the Christmas break.

I think I first saw the movie years a go as a kid, because I remember the bit where Cosmo Brown (Donald O’Connor) performs “Make ’em Laugh” and runs up the wall before flipping backwards onto his feet. It amazed me then, and still amazes me now.

Of course, the movie is best known for the scene featuring Gene Kelly’s song and dance performance of “Singin’ In The Rain”, the song that inspired the movie, and a scene that has been copied and parodied many times.

The movie itself is set in the 1920’s during the era of transition from silent films to ‘talkies’ and follows the making of a film studio’s first talkie movie featuring a leading lady with a ridiculously annoying voice.

I enjoy watching classic movies and records lots on Freeview. At present I have the following movies queued for viewing – Night of the Demon, North by North West, Our Man in Havana, Brief Encounter and Casablanca.

The animated GIF file above was created by grabbing a clip from Youtube, exporting the stills from Premiere Pro, resizing in Photoshop, then saving as animated GIF format from Flash. The resulting file was compressed heavily and weighs in at only 80K. Simples.

About colinmaxwell

Creative Industries lecturer. Photographer, designer, game developer, film maker. Scotland.
This entry was posted in ds106 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 7 frames of Singin’ in the Rain

  1. Jim says:

    80K is pretty damn small, all mine are so much bigger. I have to test your method. And now that I think about it, I think a whole series of animated gifs from each of Hitchcock’s classic films would be a great way to explore Hitchcock and Animated GIFs.

  2. Jen Maddux says:

    You know, I was just thinking about an animation for Singing in the Rain this weekend. I thought the scene from their first “talkie” when the sound gets off would be fun. “No, No, No… Yes, Yes, Yes”

Leave a Reply

